May 14 (Tuesday) Location: Westin Arlington Gateway

Afternoon Session—3:30 to 5:30 p.m. Fitzgerald C Room

Welcome:  Dr. Farnam Jahanian, Assistant Director, NSF/CISE  [20 minutes]

Logistics and Objectives:  Jason Cong (UCLA) and Robert Wood (Harvard)  [20 minutes]

Panel: Effective Outreach and Education Practices and Successes.  Robert Wood (Harvard), Rajesh Gupta (UCSD), 
            Avi Wigderson (Institute for Advanced Studies), Guru Parulkar (Stanford), and Niles Pierce (CalTech): Moderator
            Susanne Hambrusch, Division Director, NSF/CCF [60 minutes]

*6 p.m. evening reception at Westin, Hemingway Salons 1 and 2 (cash bar)*


May 15 (Wednesday) Location: Westin Arlington Gateway

Morning Session— 8:30 a.m. to 12:40 p.m.  (incl continental breakfast) Fitzgerald C Room

Welcome: Dr. Cora Marrett, Acting Director, NSF  [30 minutes]

Presentations and Round-Table Discussion:

                                    Chair:  Helen Gill (NSF)

  • 9:00 to 9:20     Edmund Clarke (CMU): Next-Generation Model Checking & Abstract Interpretation with a Focus on Embedded
                               Control and Systems Biology
  • 9:20 to 9:40     Rajeev Alur (U. Penn): Expeditions in Computer Augmented Program Engineering
  • 9:40 to 10:00   Moses Charikar (Princeton):  Understanding, Coping With, and Benefiting From Intractability

10:00 to 10:20  Break

                                      Chair:  Krishna Kant (NSF)

  • 10:20 to 10:40   Monica Lam and Guru Parulkar (Stanford): Open Programmable Mobile Interne
  • 10:40 to 11:00   Rajesh Gupta (UCSD): Variability-Aware Software for Efficient Computing with Nanoscale Devices
  • 11:00 to 11:20   Jason Cong (UCLA): Customizable Domain-Specific Computing

11:20 to 11:40  Break

  • 11:40 to 12:40   Panel:  Managing Large, Distributed Projects:  Best Practices and Challenges. Carla Gomes (Cornell),
                                Edmund Clarke (CMU), Jason Cong (UCLA), Vipin Kumar (U. Minn), and James Rehg (GaTech):
                                Moderator Howard Wactlar, Division Director, NSF/IIS

12:40 to 2:30 Working Lunch in Fitzgerald C Room

  • 1:00 to 2:30      Round-Table Discussion. Shaping the Future of the Expedition Program: Moderator Dr. Farnam Jahanian,
                               Assistant Director, NSF/CISE

Afternoon Session— 2:40 to 6:00 p.m.

                                     Chair: Kenneth Whang (NSF)

  • 2:40 to 3:00      Erik Winfree (CalTech): The Molecular Programming Project
  • 3:00 to 3:20      Robert Wood (Harvard):  RoboBees: A Convergence of Body, Brain and Colony
  • 3:20 to 3:40      Daniela Rus (MIT): An Expedition in Computing for Compiling Printable Programmable Machines

3:40 to 4:00 Break

                                     Chair: Vasant Honavar (NSF)

  • 4:00 to 4:20      Michael Franklin (Berkeley):  Making Sense at Scale with Algorithms, Machines, and People
  • 4:20 to 4:40      Vipin Kumar (U. of Minn): Understanding Climate Change:  A Data-Driven Approach
  • 4:40 to 5:00      Carla Gomes (Cornell): Computational Sustainability: Computational Methods for a Sustainable Environment,
                               Economy, and Society

5:00 to 5:20 Break

                                     Chair: Ephraim Glinert (NSF)

  • 5:20 to 5:40      James Rehg (GaTech): Computational Behavioral Science: Modeling, Analysis, and Visualization of Social and
                               Communicative Behavior
  • 5:40 to 6:00      Brian Scassellati (Yale):  Socially Assistive Robot

*7:30 p.m. dinner with industry partners in Fitzgerald A & B rooms (cash bar)*


May 16 (Thursday) Location: NSF

Morning Session—8:30 to 9:30 a.m. in Stafford I Room 110

  • 8:30 to 9:30     NSF Panel: Opportunities in STC (John Cozzens); ERC (Sankar Basu); I/UCRC (Keith MarzulloO; I-Corps (Anita LaSalle).
                              Moderator Keith Marzullo, Division Director, NSF/CNS

9:30 to 10:00 Break (set up posters)

Poster Session—10:00 to 12:30 p.m. in “Atrium,” CISE Advisory Committee, NSF Program Directors, and all PI Meeting Attendees